MattGee87's RSM 250 Journey

mattgee87

Market
Reaction score
So where do I start,...Well I've been reefing for about 5 years now off and on. I started out with a Used Biocube 29, that soon led to a Red Sea MAX 130D. I sold that tank and upgraded to a 75RR tank with ATI 8 bulb dimmable T5's. Well here I am again starting another new tank with a used RSM 250. The main reason I am swapping is the Wife doesn't want a 75 gallon reef ( 48x18x18 ) in our living room. Our house just isn't big enough. The 75 gallon tank currently resides in the dinning room, which is great except I don't get to see the tank as often as i'd like. So being the great couple we are, we came up with a compromise. I could get a 36" tank that would fit on one of our walls in the living room BUT I had to give up the 75 gallon tank in the kitchen.

I originally was saving for a new RSM 250 but I found a deal on my local Craigslist that I couldn't believe. I found a RSM with chiller,2 mp40's, and a tunze 9001 all for $800. I jumped on the deal and brought home my new baby. Once I got it all home and cleaned up I did find 3 or 4 semi bad scratches. I contacted RSM and I will have to spend close to $500 on getting a new tank, Needless to say I was devastated. Well I ended up ordering a scratch removal product that is suppose to work, so we will see how it goes. It should be here by the 17th of this month. In the mean time I leak tested and cleaned all the pumps and skimmer. The one think I have notice is this tank is a lot louder then expected. I think some of the noise from the pumps are coming from the "leaning" on the glass and there other culprit is the fans in the lights which I do plan on replacing ASAP.

This build thread will be a slow one but, I plan on doing everything right on this tank ( such as QTing fish, dipping coral, etc..)