Skimmer Help Needed!

Hardy Reefs

Market
Reaction score
I recently purchased a Reef Octopus Classic152s for my new setup. This is my first time having a skimmer with a dedicated ball valve as all of my others have. Just had a tuning knob for the air tube. My problem is that at any height I run the skimmer, open or closed gate valve I can’t get the skimmer to stop overflowing or almost overflowing. The water just doesn’t slow down in the neck like I remember my old skimmers doing. I have been running it for a few days and just letting it overflow as some recommend, but I just want to know if I’m missing something. Any help is appreciated IMG_0015.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_0069.jpeg
    IMG_0069.jpeg
    118.9 KB · Views: 24
Looks like water level is too high, you can either lower the water in skimmer chamber or raise the skimmer. I prefer keeping a higher water level in the sump, I use plastic egg crate to build skimmer stands in my setups.

Oddly enough, I had the same thing happen to my Octo after running it for years and years. I do not know what happened but even with the valve wide open it would overflow. I ended up taking a piece of egg crate and cobbling together a small stand to raise it off the bottom of the sump 1-1/2" and it's running great now. The only other thing could be the air intake being blocked somehow. Try to piece together something that will raise it an inch or two, that should fix it.

Side note: Just in case a inch or two isn't enough, maybe shoot for 3 if possible. You can always lower it.

Thank you both for the responses. I have some 1" pvc from the pipes I can use for a base and will pick up some light diffuser tomorrow and get something together.