A Rough Day with the Sludgy Brown Palys of Death, or “How I learned about Palytoxin

christophert

Market
Reaction score
I am new to saltwater tanks. Up until yesterday I was admittedly feeling pretty good about my progress so far; I was reading and researching a ton, several experienced friends and acquaintances were helping me out with my Biocube 29, giving me advice, and helping to control my novice impulses to go out and do and buy everything at once. Parameters were stable, my clownfish were happy, some great people from ARC had given me some awesome beginner freebies, the frogspawn was happily waving in the current, and the Hollywood Stunner frag was just starting to take and feed at night. The worst thing that had happened so far was a sudden algae bloom that turned the glass sort of green.

I had acquired my live rock from a certain individual (who will remain nameless here) who had posted on the Dry Goods & Livestock forum that he was selling live rock at $2/lb. What a deal! I arrived at his place and picked out some rocks, and noticed that some of the rocks had some sort of coral on them already. Noticing my interest he immediately offered to sell me that rock for $20 extra since it came with corals. This particular colony of whatever it was covered about 1/3 of the rock, so I figured it was a decent deal and forked over the cash. Newbie mistake #1. (I thought they were zoas…)