My 250 gallon hobby!

jdpierce21

Market
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am new to the hobby and new to the ARC. I just joined and I planned to become involved in the club to learn about the hobby.

I am in the process of having a 250 gallon salt water aquarium custom built. I have documented my game plan, if you will, and would appreciate any feedback.

Please let me know your thoughts on my plan. Please be completely honest as you will not hurt my feelings. I am still learning everyday about this hobby!

Thanks in advance,
Joe
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
fieldset>

Hi, Joe, Welcome! Glad you found us! I think your plan looks very well thought out--the tank is certainly a beauty! I'm sure others will have plenty of advice, but I think your lighting looks good, and flow should be fine. I didn't notice whether you listed live rock or not, but you would definitely want a good bit of that as well, maybe 200-300 lbs eventually (or more!). But you don't need to get it all at once. It's just easier to cure it all in you tank if you do it at start up. Going slow is a great idea. You'll have plenty of light for corals but you'll want to let the system stabilize for a good 6 months until you know it inside and out. I would definitely add (first) a bunch of snails and hermits to your livestock list, and I would perhaps worry about the 6-line wrasse with the peppermint shrimp. I actually had one eat my cleaner shrimp while he was moulting once, and the peppermint shrimp are a lot smaller... Other things would be to watch your skimmer closely and see that it's doing what it should. What pump are you using for it? needle wheel or beckett or venturi? where did you get the plans for it?