New Member 75 Gallon

MathCat58

Supporting
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm new to ARC but excited to get involved and learn. I started just over a year ago with my first every saltwater tank. It's a 75 gallon mixed reef (so far softies only) with Eheim 2215 canister filter. I am very lucky to live about 2 miles down the road from my LFS (a blessing and a curse)!

Unfortunately I am currently fighting some high nitrates due to some over-feeding (about 20ppm now after some strong 20-40% water changes - shooting for 3-5ppm) and sadly now have some aiptasia popping up so that will be my next battle. I believe it snuck in on a Sinularia frag about a month ago.

I love the hobby and will be learning as long as I am in it I'm sure. Someday hoping to have a +200 gallon built into my wall, but baby steps.

Saltwater Picture 2023 March.jpg

what are you considering high nitrates. 20 is alittle high but i keep mine at 15ish.

what are you considering high nitrates
It got up to 60ppm before I started the 20-40% water changes. I got lazy for a few months and also forgot to clean the canister for a bit (won't happen again). I much prefer the 10% weekly to bi-weekly ones! Took about half a Saturday afternoon to do the 40% one.

right. best of luck hope you got a mesh top on your tank. Looks like you got some jumpers there

If you don't keep the canister filter clean that will drive up nitrates. Do you have a skimmer? There some good HOB skimmers out now

If you don't keep the canister filter clean that will drive up nitrates. Do you have a skimmer? There some good HOB skimmers out now
Actually that's next on my list. My tank is rimmed and I'm looking for a HOB one that can handle a 75 gallon but also fit behind the tank so I don't have to put it on the side. If you have recommendations let me know!