Cycling help

Reefchef

Supporting
Reaction score
Ok guys I need your help. I started my cycle almost 2 months ago using bio spira and dr.tims ammonia. I tested it tonight and the ammonia is at about 2ppm which I did about 3 days ago, it's not going down. I have some more bio spira on the way coming tomorrow. My question is should I add tgat and maybe a piece of live rock. Please let me know your thoughts, and yes im a proud rookie!!! Thank you in advance good the help.

20190929_001322.jpg

Here is also a pic of my nitrite and nitrate test tonight. The top one is nitrite and the bottom is nitrate.
20190929_012614.jpg
20190929_013046.jpg

Any rock or any bio media for the bacteria to grow on?

Don’t do any water changes until the cycle is complete.
I have my aqua scape in I would say about a good 150lb at least, I started with all dead rock, and I also have a bag of Exxodus nitryx in the sump. Thank you guys

That’s a lot of ammonia remaining for 2 months. I did something similar with stability tho and it was done in a month.

Guess just keep waiting it out. It’s clear that the process has started with that amount of nitrate showing tho. Once the ammonia and nitrite is zero’ed out, I’d perform a large water change to get those nitrates down.

It is unusual for ammonia to still be registering... Clearly you have denitrifying bacteria present or you wouldn't have nitrites/nitrates. A boost from some established tanks would probably help.

I agree; that’s a lot of ammonia remaining. I wonder how that much got there.

Have you been adding ammonia everyday? If so, it’s not necessary, and could potentially explain. Otherwise, I think all the dead rock you used must have had lots of organics that are still decomposing. And I agree with everyone else here. Adding more rock from an existing tank can help to boost your population a little.

Also I applaud your patience. Keep it up!