Coral Coloration

You could try just using your current black box and replacing some of the LEDs with other ones like more blues and adding UV. That's the cheapest way to go and you'll ensure you're getting the spectrum you want. I picked up a 8 foot tank and have been debating on its lighting... I may forgo radions and just go with blackboxes and change the leds to what I want. As I don't use the greens/whites/reds on my radions anyways. I'll need some soldering help though as I'm a bit of a noob at it but the videos online seem pretty straight forward.

You could try just using your current black box and replacing some of the LEDs with other ones like more blues and adding UV. That's the cheapest way to go and you'll ensure you're getting the spectrum you want. I picked up a 8 foot tank and have been debating on its lighting... I may forgo radions and just go with blackboxes and change the leds to what I want. As I don't use the greens/whites/reds on my radions anyways. I'll need some soldering help though as I'm a bit of a noob at it but the videos online seem pretty straight forward.

I have never soldered either. At the moment, I'm leaning towards one of the new 18" SB Reef Lights. It has UV and they moved some of the blues to the white channel so people can run each channel closer in percentage. It is only $45 more than I paid for the Mars Aqua. I found out yesterday that they also sell a retro fit kit for black boxes for $60 (not sure if that requires soldering).

Is the 8 foot tank going downstairs and are you going to transfer everything from your current display upstairs down to it, or is that going to be a second display? If you need any help moving stuff, let me know.

Actually, I would like to borrow it if possible. :) Pm sent.

Casey, the tank will go downstairs on the opposite side of the wall as the frag tank room. It'll get plumbed together. Tired of taking care of two tanks.

Any way to show a pic of the corals?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk