Best way to write on aquariums

chemaholic

Staff member
Supporting
Reaction score
I want to start writing useful info on my working tanks like when the last water change was and what the last set of water test results were. I was thinking of just getting some of those chalk markers for glass or maybe using dry erase markers but I have no experience using them for glass. Long ago when I was in the lab I would use Sharpies to write on my glassware. It worked great and I just used some acetone to take it off. I would rather not have to use a strong solvent like that around my tanks though.

Does anyone have a suggestion? I already use Aquarimate to log all this information, I just do not want to have to spend a couple of minutes pulling all that data up just to know when I need to do the next water change on something.

I can tell you with chalk markers it wipes off pretty easily. Not quite as easy as dry erase, so it may be great. Just a damp paper towel will work.

I’ve always used the liquid chalk pens to write on my tanks whenever I’m cycling a new one. Makes keeping track of the cycle easier and to know how long it’s been up and running.

I used a sharpie to write down feeding instructions on a standard glass tank for a tank sitter a few times; came right off with a razor blade, no chemicals needed, and you don't have to worry about accidentally rubbing it off.

Great info! I will get a couple of the suggested options and see how they work. I really appreciate it!

Painters tape is good for notes and labeling stuff but I don’t love the blue blob I can’t see through. Sharpie is my favorite for marking on glass. You can make precise marks (like on a water line,) it doesn’t block your view and stays on as long as you need it and comes right off with alcohol (use liquor store alcohol.)