HELLO EVERYONE! 29g modded biocube....new reefer here...established tank.

just josh

Market
Reaction score
Hey yall im josh, im a new "reefer" and yall i got the "MADNESS"!!!!!

Totally addicted!!!

Picked up a modded biocube from a cool asian guy named ryan - thanks bro!!!

Anyway this fella put alot of time and love (and coin) into the tank but life got in the way and after the move im actually suprised at how well everything is starting to bounce back!

I am new to this so sorry for any q's I might have in the future!!!!! And "tanks " in advance!! ;)

I saw an offer for a free coral if I join arc and this already was the coolest forum ive found AND I get deals on stock n dry goods etc??? WIN WIN!!!

I AM JUST HAPPY TO HAVE ALL THE KNOWLEDGE BEHIND YOU MEMBERS AND FOR THAT I AM GRATEFUL!!!

anyway back to the tank!

I first got it setup rough (still not how I want) cuz it was so murkey from the move. I have moved stuff around a cpl times trying to get some things right but its prolly all wrong. I have yet to id alot of coral in there as it is all curled up still some has come out and I have ideas on whats what.

I set it up and let it settle.

temp 70.9 ph of 7.9. ( quality hanna ph meter not a cheapie reads temp too)

Next day I went to LFS and got 5 gallon pre made and had water tested.

0 nitrates 25ppm of ammonia ph of 7.9 alk of 9. Salinity of 1.023 thats what they tested so far.

I bought micro Bacter 7 and 8.4

I added 1 cap full of 8.4 and two capfuls of the bacter7.

let stuff open up and fed each a lil reef snow at moonliggt.

timers set 12 hrs full bulbs...blue alone for 30 min before and after. Moon leds the rest of the night cycle.

got water home water temp 80 so dropped heater down. Tank holding at around 78 on money. Ph 8.0. Water temp now 78.3.

changed the 5 gallons out w the recommended swap- cleaned some surface algea while doing this. Looks better.

was advised to get a cleaner shrimp and "crew".