New 40 breeder all in one frag tank

labernathy

Reaction score
So this is my first post on ARC along with my first adventure into a frag tank and coral. So hello and thank you all for the valuable information I have already received from reading your posts and thank you for the feedback I am sure I will receive.

I have a 26G bow front FOWLR tank that I have been running for a few months now and also a 125 freshwater that has been going close to a year(if my girlfriend didn't like its inhabitants so much it would be getting converted to salt). So this isn't my first aquarium just my first coral tank!

However, this is the first tank that I am actually doing more than buy parts and put together so I wanted to get input from more experienced aquarists. With that in mind, please correct anything that I say that may be incorrect or contrary to your experience.

My plan is to dedicate the first 8" on one end of the tank to filter, live rock and refugium. Water will spill over the top of the divider and down through a sponge, carbon and anything else needed. It will then flow up through live rock(1-2" pieces) the live rock will be raised on egg crate like everyone makes frag racks out of to help distribute the flow. Finally the water falls down into the refugium area that will house macro algae and the return pump and if needed a skimmer. I am good about doing weekly water changes and do not plan to keep SPS so from what I have read a skimmer is not necessary.

I am considering using a Maxi Jet 1200 as my return pump since I am not actually lifting the water and will have very little back pressure. With that in mind the 1200 only pushes about 300gph in this configuration. Is that going to be enough or would I be better served using something that will move more water? If so, how much water should I try to move and what do you recommend?