Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Reef Discussion
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2006, 10:02 AM   #1
George George is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 2,528
City: Staunton
State: VA
Occupation: Software Architect
LR in the sump

I know people keep extra LR in their sumps, but do you have to provide any light for that or just good water flow? Are their downsides to doing this?

I tried a DSB filter recently (the bucket o' sand in the sump thing) and it's not really doing anything, possibly doing worse. The bucket, however, would be perfect for holding additional LR to help with filtration.

Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 12:54 PM   #2
tsciarini tsciarini is offline
2008 BoD Member
 
tsciarini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 2,601
City: Alpharetta
State: GA
Occupation: PACS Administrator
Send a message via AIM to tsciarini Send a message via MSN to tsciarini Send a message via Yahoo to tsciarini
no light required... its only there for additional biological filtration

Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 2:42 PM   #3
bluegrasssweety bluegrasssweety is offline
 
bluegrasssweety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 110
City: Lawrenceville
State: GA
Occupation: Administrative
Send a message via Yahoo to bluegrasssweety
You would only need light if you decide to put macros in with the rock.

Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 2:50 PM   #4
bluegrasssweety bluegrasssweety is offline
 
bluegrasssweety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 110
City: Lawrenceville
State: GA
Occupation: Administrative
Send a message via Yahoo to bluegrasssweety
You would only need light if you decide to put macros in with the rock.

Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 2:52 PM   #5
bluegrasssweety bluegrasssweety is offline
 
bluegrasssweety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 110
City: Lawrenceville
State: GA
Occupation: Administrative
Send a message via Yahoo to bluegrasssweety

how did I post this twice

Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 5:14 PM   #6
George George is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 2,528
City: Staunton
State: VA
Occupation: Software Architect
Bump with a follow-up question:

If I have base rock I want to turn into live rock (cured, ready to go just dry), can I just place it in the sump and it will eventually go "live" again (albeit devoid of coraline and the usual stuff)?

Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 5:16 PM   #7
Showtime305 Showtime305 is offline
 
Showtime305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 1,940
City: Smyrna
State: GA
Send a message via AIM to Showtime305 Send a message via MSN to Showtime305 Send a message via Yahoo to Showtime305
You say it's cured, but it's dry? Please explain.

Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 4:46 AM   #8
johnqx4 johnqx4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
City: Auburn
State: GA
Occupation: Data Center Manager
Other Interests: Computers, Guitars, Water Skiing
Quote:
If I have base rock I want to turn into live rock
Short answer... Yes. Takes a little time but it will happen. That is basically how they culture live rock (albeit on a somewhat larger scale)

BTW, if it is not live it can't be cured. I assume you mean clean

Regards,

johnny

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2014, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.