Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Reef Discussion
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2008, 8:19 AM   #1
flyingarmy flyingarmy is offline
 
flyingarmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 3,792
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Occupation: Army Aviator
Other Interests: Motorcycles, Scenario Woodsball
PH issues, sorta!

I am perplexed!

I recently added a Nielson Kalk Reactor and have it controlled by my Octopus 3000. I have the PH set point at 8.4 and the range +/- .20. In the afternoons the PH gets up to 8.7ish and then drops to around 8.1 at night. I am running a reverse cycle fuge that I would have hoped to keep the PH stable at night. I can't seem to get my Nielson Reactor and PH controller to work right to keep the PH constant. Does anyone use CO2 dosing to lower PH? I would have thought my Calcium Reactor effluent would keep the PH down but something is just not right. Anyone have any suggestions/ideas to help keep the PH stable? Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 8:25 AM   #2
Barbara Barbara is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,866
City: Woodstock
State: GA
Occupation: Health Insurance
You people with high PH kill me!!!!!! I can't keep mine up to 8.0, much less higher. I wish I had your problem.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 8:52 AM   #3
glxtrix glxtrix is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
glxtrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,517
City: Austell
State: GA
Occupation: 3D Artist/Photographer
I'd rather have lower pH...those high fluxations aren't good at all for the corals. Mark you have a second chamber on your ca reactor right? Test your ALK from your ca reactor. That will mess up pH if it's too high or low. Mine was bouncing all over till I got the reactor dialed in. Now my pH is roughly 8.2-8.4

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:05 AM   #4
flyingarmy flyingarmy is offline
 
flyingarmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 3,792
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Occupation: Army Aviator
Other Interests: Motorcycles, Scenario Woodsball
What would be causing the ALK to be too high or too low? The CO2 is controller by a PH controller and stays between 6.3-6.7 in the reactor.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:11 AM   #5
purpleGORILLA purpleGORILLA is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,044
City: Norcross
State: GA
Other Interests: Turbo, Supercharger.
How are you using the Nielson to dose into the tank? Are you using it as top off? What kind of pump are you using it with?

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:19 AM   #6
flyingarmy flyingarmy is offline
 
flyingarmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 3,792
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Occupation: Army Aviator
Other Interests: Motorcycles, Scenario Woodsball
My top off is seperate. The Nielson is controlled by my Octpus 3000 controller and it's fed by a Aqualifter. It doses for 2 minutes and cycles every 15 minutes if needed. The flow is barley a quick drip.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:26 AM   #7
glxtrix glxtrix is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
glxtrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,517
City: Austell
State: GA
Occupation: 3D Artist/Photographer
IMO 6.3 in your reactor with the small media is too low. Be careful that stuff doesn't melt to mush on you. Mine stay between 6.6-6.7 and seems to be doing great.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:32 AM   #8
purpleGORILLA purpleGORILLA is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,044
City: Norcross
State: GA
Other Interests: Turbo, Supercharger.
I dunno. I would put the tube from the reactor into a 5 gallon and test to see the volume after 1-2 hour to confirm that it is not over dosing. But yeah, with a pH that high, that can only come from the Kalkwasser.

On the other hand, might want to recalibrate your pH or at least get a second pH meter.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:33 AM   #9
flyingarmy flyingarmy is offline
 
flyingarmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 3,792
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Occupation: Army Aviator
Other Interests: Motorcycles, Scenario Woodsball
Quote:
Originally Posted by purpleGORILLA View Post
I dunno. I would put the tube from the reactor into a 5 gallon and test to see the volume after 1-2 hour to confirm that it is not over dosing. But yeah, with a pH that high, that can only come from the Kalkwasser.

On the other hand, might want to recalibrate your pH or at least get a second pH meter.

I might need to check the effluent again and check the PH coming out of the Nielson. Thanks!

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:38 AM   #10
glxtrix glxtrix is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
glxtrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,517
City: Austell
State: GA
Occupation: 3D Artist/Photographer
where is your probe in relation to where the effluent of the kalk is coming out? The effluent will be anywhere from 10-13 and if the probe is too close to that area, it can give an off reading. try throwing your probe up in your disp for a few seconds to get a reading from there to see if it's different.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:40 AM   #11
flyingarmy flyingarmy is offline
 
flyingarmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 3,792
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Occupation: Army Aviator
Other Interests: Motorcycles, Scenario Woodsball
Quote:
Originally Posted by glxtrix View Post
where is your probe in relation to where the effluent of the kalk is coming out? The effluent will be anywhere from 10-13 and if the probe is too close to that area, it can give an off reading. try throwing your probe up in your disp for a few seconds to get a reading from there to see if it's different.

That's a great idea Lee. I might even try it in the frag tank since it's sorta last on the system.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 9:49 AM   #12
glxtrix glxtrix is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
glxtrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,517
City: Austell
State: GA
Occupation: 3D Artist/Photographer
That would be a great place to check. Hopefully it's reading different and things are on point.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:30 PM   #13
George George is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 2,528
City: Staunton
State: VA
Occupation: Software Architect
Quote:
Originally Posted by glxtrix View Post
where is your probe in relation to where the effluent of the kalk is coming out? The effluent will be anywhere from 10-13 and if the probe is too close to that area, it can give an off reading. try throwing your probe up in your disp for a few seconds to get a reading from there to see if it's different.
+1. When I was doing Kalk dosing, my pH would spike up nicely on my probe that was in the sump with the reactor. If you're giving the water in the pump good dwell time with the skimmer, the trade-off is that reactor effluents linger around to affect the pH more.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 2:16 PM   #14
kwl1763 kwl1763 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 930
City: Dacula
State: GA
Also keepoing your alk a liitle higher then normal like 10-12 dk will help. Also have your controller only dose kalk at night. More specifically a few hours after lights on to lights on. If that still doesn't help consider running your calcium reactor during lights on only.

Honestly it's probably more a probe issue as pointed out above. That's a massive swing!

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2014, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.