Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Do It Yourself
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2008, 8:50 PM   #1
sagent3000 sagent3000 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 34
Posts: 619
City: East Point
State: GA
Send a message via AIM to sagent3000 Send a message via Yahoo to sagent3000
Not drilled to drilled

i have an extra 10gal tank that i am not using, i am going to try to drill it just for practice. is it as easy as i think? i am going to lowes or HD to find a glass drill bit and put it up on two bricks and drill. is that pretty much it?

Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 8:52 PM   #2
Victor626nj Victor626nj is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 5,244
City: Lawrenceville
State: GA
Send a message via AIM to Victor626nj
no you have to order the bits ebay and they get sent form china or something thats for the cheap bits

Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 9:34 PM   #3
dough dough is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 50
Posts: 1,210
City: Lawrenceville
State: GA
Occupation: Sales
Other Interests: Fly Fishing, Civil War artifacts
Real Name: Doug Rouner
I used a dremel tile cutting tool to drill my tank, but the hole look like crap and it killed my dremel. Of course this was on a 58 gallon tank.

Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:23 PM   #4
sagent3000 sagent3000 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 34
Posts: 619
City: East Point
State: GA
Send a message via AIM to sagent3000 Send a message via Yahoo to sagent3000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor626nj View Post
no you have to order the bits ebay and they get sent form china or something thats for the cheap bits
what kind of bit is it? what is the name of it?

Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:31 PM   #5
mojo mojo is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,171
City: Roswell
State: GA
Occupation: Software Developer
Other Interests: Snow Skiing, Scuba, Photography
Send a message via ICQ to mojo Send a message via AIM to mojo Send a message via MSN to mojo
You can use a diamond / glass cutting bit for the dremel, but it's tough work, even for thin glass like used in the 10g. I'd highly recommend using a glass bit like the ones you can get cheap on ebay.

Also - keep in mind that a 10g tank is harder (in my opinion) than a bigger tank because the glass is so thin....
__________________
I am no more and I have nothing left to give

Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:39 PM   #6
ericmcj31 ericmcj31 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,779
City: Rome
State: GA
Occupation: Landscaper
Other Interests: Scuba diving, drinking cold beer, family, oh, and my tanks
You also have to keep water on the bit--it works kinda like a tile saw (keeps glass wet)

Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:44 AM   #7
JetChris JetChris is offline
 
JetChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 2,583
City: Marietta
State: GA
Occupation: Quality Engineer
read everything on this link, and also read the links in this link?????

Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:44 AM   #8
JetChris JetChris is offline
 
JetChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 2,583
City: Marietta
State: GA
Occupation: Quality Engineer
oops here it is

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forum...ight=drillable

Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 10:32 AM   #9
Schwaggs Schwaggs is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Schwaggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,702
City: Cumming
State: GA
Occupation: Wireless Geek
Other Interests: Reefs, is there anything else?
If you use standard hole cutting bits, a 10G is the hardest tank to drill since the glass is so thin. The thicker the glass, the easier it is to drill IMO

Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 10:39 AM   #10
Cameron Cameron is offline
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,230
City: Alpharetta
State: GA
Twopartsolution.com carries a glass drill bit.

Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 1:15 PM   #11
mkinna1 mkinna1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 268
City: Carrollton
State: GA
Sorry to interupt, but if there is no name on a 100 gallon tank do you think it is tempered anywhere?

Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 1:17 PM   #12
JetChris JetChris is offline
 
JetChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 35
Posts: 2,583
City: Marietta
State: GA
Occupation: Quality Engineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkinna1 View Post
Sorry to interupt, but if there is no name on a 100 gallon tank do you think it is tempered anywhere?

prob only tempered on the bottom.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2014, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.