Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Reef Discussion
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2017, 11:48 AM   #1
EMBDriver EMBDriver is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
City: Dawsonville
State: GA
High ORP should I be concerned?

I have a 210 gallon tank that's been set up for about 6 months. I did a water change on Tuesday, and then on Wednesday morning started getting an alarm about high ORP from my Apex the orp is bouncing between about 445 to 455. The Apex alarm is set at 450 by default. All other parameters are normal. Should I be concerned by this, or could it just be something with the probe? Thanks for your help.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 12:47 PM   #2
MyAquariumPro MyAquariumPro is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
City: Acworth
State: GA
Real Name: Dmitri
From my experience usually means you maybe running low on nutrients. I'm wondering what's your nitrates level at?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
--
Red Sea Max S-650 LED

Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 1:28 PM   #3
EMBDriver EMBDriver is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
City: Dawsonville
State: GA
Nitrates have been at 0 since the beginning. I've never had the red Sea test kit be anything but clear when I've done it. Several months ago I had alot of hair algae and even what looked like bubble algae, but I got a lawnmower blenny and a pin cushion urchin and now I have no visible algae on the rock, but still get a film on the glass every day

Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 1:48 PM   #4
MyAquariumPro MyAquariumPro is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
City: Acworth
State: GA
Real Name: Dmitri
Your system maybe "too clean", I'd recommend raising nitrates to 1-2, If you are doing reef tank
If it's fish only I wouldn't worry about orp


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
--
Red Sea Max S-650 LED

Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 9:28 PM   #5
Skriz Skriz is offline
ARC Member
ARC BoD

ARC Member

ARC Super Moderator
 
Skriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,971
City: Suwanee
State: GA
Occupation: MRC
Other Interests: Diving & Photography
Calibrate the probe and then check ORP again.
__________________
I believe in equality for everyone, except those who disagree with me.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 3:59 PM   #6
EMBDriver EMBDriver is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
City: Dawsonville
State: GA
Thanks everyone, the ORD has dropped to between 440-447 so just below the alarm. I'll try and get some calibration fluid in the next week or so. I did some test today and Nitrates still show 0 with the red sea test kit, I mean completely clear not even a hint of pigment. The test kit shows 6/18 as the expiration so it should be good. The rest of the parameters are as follows.
Alk 8.12
Ca 360
Mg 1400
Ph between 8.0-8.1

Like I said before I've never had nitrates test anything but zero the tank has been running for about 5 months. I guess the new question is should I be worried about zero nitrates, and if so what's the best way to bring them up a little. Thanks again for your help.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 5:22 PM   #7
MyAquariumPro MyAquariumPro is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
City: Acworth
State: GA
Real Name: Dmitri
I dose nopox by Red Sea daily. It helps to manage your no3 po2 levels. I recommend you read up on that product. You can find lots of forums talk about it.

Red Sea NO3:PO4-X Nitrate & Phosphate Reducer


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
--
Red Sea Max S-650 LED

Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 9:46 PM   #8
Skriz Skriz is offline
ARC Member
ARC BoD

ARC Member

ARC Super Moderator
 
Skriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,971
City: Suwanee
State: GA
Occupation: MRC
Other Interests: Diving & Photography
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMBDriver View Post
Thanks everyone, the ORD has dropped to between 440-447 so just below the alarm. I'll try and get some calibration fluid in the next week or so. I did some test today and Nitrates still show 0 with the red sea test kit, I mean completely clear not even a hint of pigment. The test kit shows 6/18 as the expiration so it should be good. The rest of the parameters are as follows.
Alk 8.12
Ca 360
Mg 1400
Ph between 8.0-8.1

Like I said before I've never had nitrates test anything but zero the tank has been running for about 5 months. I guess the new question is should I be worried about zero nitrates, and if so what's the best way to bring them up a little. Thanks again for your help.
Yes, that should concern you. I'd suspect the test kit if you've never shown nitrates and your tank is only 6 months old.

Test kits are cheap, so it's definitely worth picking one up. And you can always have your favorite LFS run some tests for you.
__________________
I believe in equality for everyone, except those who disagree with me.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 8:31 AM   #9
aXio aXio is offline
Premier Aquatics
ARC Sponsor

ARC Member
 
aXio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,033
City: Marietta
State: GA
Occupation: Manager @ Premier Aquatics
Other Interests: Coonhounds, Mountain Biking, Backpacking
Real Name: Jakub
I agree. Get your Nitrate test double checked at your LFS of choice. It is quite odd that you have never tested anything but 0.

Jakub
__________________

Jakub Lapinski - Premier Aquatics Manager
Premier Aquatics - (770) 321-8404

aXiomatic - taken for granted : self-evident or unquestionable.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 10:05 AM   #10
MyAquariumPro MyAquariumPro is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
City: Acworth
State: GA
Real Name: Dmitri
Not sure what type of test kits you are using.
I use Red Sea test kit for phosphates and nitrates as well as magnesium

API test kit for calcium and alk

I found API kits to be unreliable for low range nitrates and phosphates


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
--
Red Sea Max S-650 LED

Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 10:13 AM   #11
anit77 anit77 is offline
Secretary
ARC BoD

ARC Member
 
anit77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 683
City: Duluth
State: GA
Occupation: Branch Manager
Other Interests: Fishing, Boating, Firearms.
Real Name: Adam
I don't see where you've listed your livestock. If there's fish in the tank and they're not dead, then the tank has cycled and there should be NO3 showing up in tests.

This means 1 or 2 things. Either the test kit you have is bad or you may not be doing the test correctly. I agree you should take a water sample to your LFS and have them test everything for you. They can also show you if you're doing something wrong and you can pick up a new test kit while you're there.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 5:00 PM   #12
EMBDriver EMBDriver is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
City: Dawsonville
State: GA
Thanks everyone, I'm going to take some water with me next time I go to the lfs and have them test it.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 8:52 AM   #13
ksicard ksicard is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 170
City: marietta
State: GA
Is the probe brand new or was it left out of water for an extended amount of time?

If it is a new probe then its gonna take some time to break in. Mine took about 2-3 weeks before it settled down when I first got it. Also probes are generally designed to be wet all the time, it is why when you get a brand new probe it will have a silicone cap on the sensor to keep it from drying out. If those two things dont apply to your situation the last thing to do is to clean the probe. When mine gets dirty over time it reads high till I clean it.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2017, 9:02 AM   #14
jmaneyapanda jmaneyapanda is offline
ARC Sponsor

ARC Member
 
jmaneyapanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,501
City: Decatur
State: GA
Occupation: Premier Aquatics
ORP of 450 ish is not a concern. Its actually pretty ideal.

Understanding what ORP is helps to realize the concern with it. In simple terms, it measure water "cleanliness". But in more detailed terms, it measures the ability of water to accept electrons (hence the measurement in millivolts).

In a nutshell, high ORP is most concerning when dosing ozone to your system, as ozone oxidizes nearly everything it touches (and consequently boosts ORP quickly).

Yes a tank can *naturally* have an ORP too high with water being "too clean" for good coral and invert life, but I think this only occurs in very low load systems, with massive sterilization techniques, like UV, Ozone, giant skimmers, massive media reaction, etc.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I be concerned? DRJETT Reef Discussion 21 03-05-2014 11:51 PM
Should I be concerned about palytoxin? SleepyReef Reef Discussion 18 03-05-2012 2:43 PM
should i be concerned? too much flow... JBDreefs Reef Discussion 3 01-07-2012 9:06 AM
Concerned about this used tank Scott Martin Reef Discussion 2 08-01-2010 11:29 AM
Is this a fungus -- should I be concerned? geno Reef Discussion 1 07-21-2008 7:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.