Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > New Member Q&A
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2017, 11:52 PM   #1
pullins125 pullins125 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
City: Jonesboro
State: GA
Non drilled tank.

I have a 125 gallon freshwater tank that i wanna convert to saltwater. I want it to be fish only and probably some live rock. The problem is tank isnt drilled. Ho2 can i set up without tank veing drilled and what all do i need ???

Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 11:55 PM   #2
nickg nickg is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
nickg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 641
City: Stockbridge
State: GA
Occupation: Outside Account Manager for American Tire Dist
Other Interests: My kids don't allow to many more.
Real Name: Nick
Hang on overflows

Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:08 AM   #3
pullins125 pullins125 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
City: Jonesboro
State: GA
Any special one u suggest??

Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 7:33 AM   #4
nickg nickg is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
nickg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 641
City: Stockbridge
State: GA
Occupation: Outside Account Manager for American Tire Dist
Other Interests: My kids don't allow to many more.
Real Name: Nick
CPR CS100 would be good.

Or have it drilled and run an external overflow.

Like the Eshopps eclipse models

Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 11:21 AM   #5
pullins125 pullins125 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
City: Jonesboro
State: GA
Ok thanks. Did i need a protein skimmer or anything else?

Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 12:55 AM   #6
pullins125 pullins125 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
City: Jonesboro
State: GA
Could i run a rapids pro 3 dilter on there??? Its a wer/dry filter.

Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 9:12 AM   #7
SnowManSnow SnowManSnow is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
SnowManSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,669
City: Rome
State: GA
Occupation: Musician
Other Interests: Marine Tanks, Tennis, Family, Music
Real Name: Brandon
Send a message via Yahoo to SnowManSnow
according to what brand it is (whether the glass is tempered or not) you can easily drill the tank for overflow if you'd like to avoid using HOT overflow. I've done a few tanks, and it isn't hard if you take your time and have some guts. There may be someone in the area that can help you do it if you're uncomfortable drilling glass

Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:17 AM   #8
pullins125 pullins125 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
City: Jonesboro
State: GA
Ok. Im too nervous to try. Thinking about holding off and saving more money up and buying a complete setup off hear. Itll give me time to get an ro system set up and evrything. Thanks for all the advice.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I get a tank drilled? boalady Reef Discussion 3 01-12-2008 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.