Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Reef Discussion
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 5:26 PM   #1
Mockery Mockery is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,548
City: Kennesaw
State: GA
Light and GFCI problem??

Ok so I have a 250 watt PFO ballast powering my fixture, so yesterday I noticed that the light was off. So i look around and find the the GFCI was tripped. So i reset it and it does it again a few minutes later. Come home today happened again. This is not a new ballast or fixture so what could be causing this?

Thanks,
Colin

Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 5:59 PM   #2
Acroholic Acroholic is offline
ARC Member
ARC Member
 
Acroholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,048
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Real Name: Dave
Colin,
If you are able to plug the light into another GFCI and it trips it, then it is probably your ballast........But.....IME, most likely it is your GFCI gone bad. Seems they can start tripping easier after they get some age on them.

I have had to replace GFCIs that are a couple years old that start to trip, and after replacement they work fine.

PFO ballsts have a large initial amp dra when they fire, really large compared to electronic ballasts. It just may be that your GFCI cannot take the initial spike your ballast requires when it comes on any more.

Replacement is easy, but make sure to flip the breaker to cut power to that outlet prior to replacement.

Dave

Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 6:13 PM   #3
Mockery Mockery is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,548
City: Kennesaw
State: GA
Ok Thanks Dave I'll give it a try in a different outlet. Now do you think a timer would have any effect?

Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 6:18 PM   #4
Acroholic Acroholic is offline
ARC Member
ARC Member
 
Acroholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,048
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Real Name: Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mockery View Post
Ok Thanks Dave I'll give it a try in a different outlet. Now do you think a timer would have any effect?
I don't think a timer would make any difference...doesn't draw enough juice to trip a GFCI.

Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 6:36 PM   #5
Soarin' Soarin' is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 465
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Some kinds of GFCI trip much more easily than others -- I think it depends on how much load they were designed for. I got some GFCI units designed for outdoors use (from Home Depot) and my 250 watt HQI would trip it pretty easily.

I replaced that with some power strips that have a GFCI built in, and they work very well.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.