Go Back   Home > Atlanta Reef Club Forums > Special Interest Groups > Large Tanks
Register / Join the ARC Community Chat Gallery MemberMap Forums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visit all of our sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2017, 3:30 PM   #301
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
I'm keeping it in the 2-4 ppm range. The cyano is loving it lol. I still consider it new tank syndrome. I put 1,000 pounds of dry Marco rock in it, I'm sure the ugliest will last a little while. I waited a long time to turn on the lights which delayed the uglies.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 8:58 PM   #302
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
Okay. Been without power for an hour now. Never tried the generator I bought 2 years ago but pulled it out, gased it up and it started first pull. So far so good. Hope this power outage ends soon or I'll have to go buy gas

Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 9:06 PM   #303
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty


Tank on generator. Only running the t5s. Have all the eb8s plugged in also so controls are working.
Here's the tank on generator.


Kind of odd but the pumps are actually putting out more flow than normal.
I tested the voltage at the socket and it's 125 volts so should be okay.
See how the bean animal flow is higher than normal here.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 12:41 AM   #304
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty


Yup, this pic sums it up. 1:37 am at wallmart buying a larger gas container and ethanol shield. My 1 gallon left in the mower gas can isn't going to make it. Good thing I have an early appointment in the morning! Wouldn't want to get a good nights sleep or anything!

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 1:34 AM   #305
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
As you would guess. Get home at 215 am and the powers back on. Clean up all the cords and as I'm writing this I hear a transformer explode outside and power flickers for a second. I'm going to roll the dice and head to bed and assume Georgia power can get their sh17 together for the rest of the night!

So a 5 hour power outage. Did the generator save the tank? Probably??

At least I'm ready for the next one now. Only problem is I have to count on someone being home to notice a power outage. I might invest in one of those notification systems. I'll have to check out the prices.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 2:05 AM   #306
markstubb markstubb is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
City: Atlanta
State: GA
you don't have an apex?

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 8:19 AM   #307
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
I have an apex. It doesn't tell you when the power is out. You get notification when the power comes back on. The only way I can think of around it would be if you had the apex and your isp internet device on backup battery power. It's also powered from the eb8 so you either need one with very little power draw on it or a huge battery backup device. I wonder if apex reports a power outage if only some of the devices lose power?

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 9:31 AM   #308
markstubb markstubb is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
City: Atlanta
State: GA
So what you'd need is a UPS on both your modem and router, then another one for the Apex. The apex would connect to the UPS via a little DC "wall wart" type adapter. If the power gets lost to the EB8, the apex will notice it and send an alert. If you wanted to power things via battery, you'd obviously need to connect those to the UPS, and probably get a larger UPS too...

You don't need a huge UPS for your modem and router though. They last quite a long time on a 500kva unit - of course bigger is better

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 9:33 AM   #309
markstubb markstubb is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
City: Atlanta
State: GA
http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/12v-po...e-systems.html is the adapter

There are many ways to hook it up. You can even program the apex to turn off certain outlets during a power failure to make the UPS last longer.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 12:34 PM   #310
Scuba Steve Scuba Steve is online now
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Scuba Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Age: 40
Posts: 103
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Occupation: Life Support Systems Operator
Other Interests: Biology, Scuba Diving, Snowboarding, my Boxer-mix Molly
Real Name: Steve
Have you activated the Heartbeat monitor? It will text you know if your Apex loses connection to fusion, which it would in a power failure. Also could just be a connection issue but at least your notified that it's off so you can look into it.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 12:42 PM   #311
atlorange atlorange is online now
ARC Member
 
atlorange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 459
City: Woodstock
State: GA
Occupation: DBA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba Steve View Post
Have you activated the Heartbeat monitor? It will text you know if your Apex loses connection to fusion, which it would in a power failure. Also could just be a connection issue but at least your notified that it's off so you can look into it.
^^^^This.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 2:03 PM   #312
markstubb markstubb is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
City: Atlanta
State: GA
That would work too, but I think it's either a 1 or 4 hr delay before the heartbeat failure alerts you, right?

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 2:21 PM   #313
Scuba Steve Scuba Steve is online now
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Scuba Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Age: 40
Posts: 103
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Occupation: Life Support Systems Operator
Other Interests: Biology, Scuba Diving, Snowboarding, my Boxer-mix Molly
Real Name: Steve
Neptune lists 30-40 minute delay between initial lost signal and notification

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 4:18 PM   #314
markstubb markstubb is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
City: Atlanta
State: GA
Gotcha. Maybe I was thinking of the other heartbeat site - reeftronics

Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 7:07 PM   #315
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
Thanks for the info about the heartbeat monitor. I hadn't heard of it. Sounds like a good start for sure. And thanks for the link to the adapter.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 10:54 AM   #316
anit77 anit77 is offline
Secretary
ARC BoD

ARC Member
 
anit77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 683
City: Duluth
State: GA
Occupation: Branch Manager
Other Interests: Fishing, Boating, Firearms.
Real Name: Adam
For all you have invested down there how much is this, really?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M24JO5D..._u6.qzbH7AD709

Power goes out and your whole home is backed up.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 3:26 PM   #317
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
Money tree ran out on me though and only risk is about $2k in livestock/corals. I'm guessing final numbers installed would be about $7500. I'll put it on the list but until the money tree comes back to life I'll play it as safe as I can. A lot invested. But everything can be cleaned and re used except for the livestock.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 4:12 PM   #318
anit77 anit77 is offline
Secretary
ARC BoD

ARC Member
 
anit77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 683
City: Duluth
State: GA
Occupation: Branch Manager
Other Interests: Fishing, Boating, Firearms.
Real Name: Adam
I spent a 1100 on a 7500w with a transfer switch I installed myself. I can fire up about a 3rd of the breakers.

In a year or two you're livestock value will most likely be more than the system. Something to think about.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 8:07 PM   #319
outdrsyguy1 outdrsyguy1 is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 783
City: Marietta - Near Sprayberry HS
State: GA
Occupation: HVAC Commercial Service Sales
Other Interests: kids
Real Name: Rusty
Yeah. In a year or so I'm hoping to finish out the basement and maybe I could do a smaller one like yours and do some of the work myself. I'd totally be cool with just powering the downstairs circuits.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 4:48 PM   #320
kzoo kzoo is offline
Atlanta Reef Club Member
ARC Member
 
kzoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 986
City: sugarhill
State: ga
Occupation: gear head
Other Interests: my two boys, force inducted cars
Wow

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 users and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not build a bear; but build a 75 gallon CUC! WannabeeaReefKeeper Reef Discussion 3 12-06-2014 8:41 AM
Kati's 90 Gallon Build and Custom Stand Build kturner Member Tanks 11 11-21-2014 9:42 PM
Another diy LED build for a 90 gallon JDWells Do It Yourself 15 11-05-2013 3:13 PM
Yet another 93 gallon build ddaddy2420 Member Tanks 8 08-23-2013 3:19 PM
My 75 Gallon Build jead85 Reef Discussion 9 01-29-2011 3:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2015, Atlanta Reef Club, Inc.