View Full Version : 90% water change

mojo
03-31-2011, 10:23 AM
I wanted to start this thread for anyone that was interested. It's been about two months since my crash thread (http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=53348), with no real progress. Granted, I've been working ~100-120 hour weeks (seriously) for the past several months, so I haven't done much recently to make a difference. In fact, I haven't done much more than work.... :(

I do know that moving the corals to another tank (with a dip in CoralRx in between) seemed to do wonders for the coral - every one that was moved looks great. With that in mind, it's likely not a bacterial infection that I want to risk antibiotics on.

I have tried adding carbon and some Poly pads (http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=4335), but haven't seen any difference. I'm still not willing to cut out my corals out and start from scratch.

So... I'm going to try one more thing before I reach that conclusion - doing a ~90% water change. Normally, I'd never consider doing something so disruptive, but since the corals are stressed and doing pretty badly, I'm not sure I can do worse.

I've got a 240g DT, 300g DT, and 120g of actual water in the sump. I've only got volume for 300g of made up saltwater, so I'll have to do things in batches. Disconnecting the 300g and then draining the sump and 240g display will go first, and then I'll make up another batch of water and do the second tank. Either way, it won't be terribly fun.

I'll try to take pictures along the way- it should be interesting...

cr500_af
03-31-2011, 10:32 AM
Chris, I've got a couple of 50g drums if they would help.

mojo
03-31-2011, 10:34 AM
Thanks for the offer. I'm honestly not sure if I can manage much more than what I've got already....:confused2:

JDabs
03-31-2011, 10:35 AM
Wow Chris, that's a big undertaking for sure. Good luck and let us know if you need help or anything.

EnderG60
03-31-2011, 10:42 AM