View Full Version : my clown larvae are hatching

Spike
01-29-2010, 12:18 AM
A long night I guess. Thanks to Bud for all of the borrowed equipment and advice. The Larvae trap is working great. My cleaner shrimp is out trying for a midnight snack. I gave him a small piece of formula one and I think he went to bed.

atreyu917
01-29-2010, 12:50 AM
Congrats!

Ralph ATL
01-29-2010, 1:16 AM
Sweet!

Spike
01-29-2010, 2:10 AM
man I am tired and wore out, usually I am in bed by 10.

nova65chic
01-29-2010, 3:54 AM
Nice! Must be in the air, one of my peppermint shrimp has a clutch of eggs :)

williampruitt240sx
01-29-2010, 4:35 AM
thats great to hear im happy for u. i would love to see some pictures

Budsreef
01-29-2010, 8:33 AM
Woohoo!

joshl
01-29-2010, 8:49 AM
awesome!

Spike
01-29-2010, 11:45 AM
Well, it was a long night collecting larvae. I am sure I made some mistakes along the way. This is my first attempt at rearing saltwater larvae. Actually only about 40 hatched so far, more still clinking to rock this morning. I do not know if I delayed the hatching by starting the collection too early. I waited until I saw a few larvae on surface, then put the LED at entrance of larvae trap. Last night it seemed more went into trap, but hard to see with lights out and larvae so darn small. Plus I think my cleaner shrimp was having him a snack. He is very stubborn, and would not back off very long at my attempts to knock him away. While trying to keep him away I might have spooked the larvae also.
This morning it looks like I have lost many of the larvae. Upon observation the yolk sac looked small. Not for sure the reason, they are suppose to live 24-48 hours on the yolk sac. Maybe the hatching had been delayed, or maybe dealing with it being only the second time this pair had spawned. Or possibly I need to feed the breeding pair a better diet.