View Full Version : RO filters


Mockery
12-10-2009, 10:25 PM
Can anyone give my info on this RO unit. A friend of mine bought it and we want to hook it up. But it needs filters and and a DI,http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc246/mockery1982/photo-2.jpg

grouper therapy
12-10-2009, 10:26 PM
it is a Kent brand::D:D

Amici
12-10-2009, 10:28 PM
Haha aside from groupers observation what else do you want to know?

Mockery
12-10-2009, 10:43 PM
What filter do I need to put in it? and how many GPD it does.

Amici
12-10-2009, 11:04 PM
What filter do I need to put in it? and how many GPD it does.

It should take a standard micron and carbon cartridge. The only way to know for sure how many GPD is it to take out the membrane and look at it or run it and see how many gallons it makes in an hour and multiply that by 24. However with the size of the unit I would get its 25 gpd.

Mockery
12-10-2009, 11:12 PM
It should take a standard micron and carbon cartridge. The only way to know for sure how many GPD is it to take out the membrane and look at it or run it and see how many gallons it makes in an hour and multiply that by 24. However with the size of the unit I would get its 25 gpd.

Ok so 5 micron sediment filter and 1 micron carbon block? where could i get a 25gpd ro membrane? Only stuff online is 50 or 75 would it be bad to run one if these?

Amici
12-10-2009, 11:15 PM
You can change the membrane you just also have to change the flow restricter as well. And the micron size you pick depends on how dirty your water is from my understanding. If you have really bad water then you want lower micron so you filter more out there and your membrane doesnt have to do as much.

Mockery
12-10-2009, 11:33 PM
Instead of a flow restricter I could you put a john guess valve there. and just get a 75 gpd membrane?

Here is where i got the idea
http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=34963&highlight=flow+restrictor

Amici
12-10-2009, 11:39 PM
Can you? Yes if you have a TDS meter. However they are like 3-8 bucks depending on where you get it so I dont see a reason to do that when its such a hassle to fine tune a valve unless you are REALLY in a crunch. Just my 2 cents.

Mockery
12-11-2009, 12:08 AM
Your right after some digging on BRS I found some 75's. Added it to cart good to go!

JennM
12-11-2009, 3:37 AM
You do need to match the flow restrictor with the size of the membrane. A John Guest fitting won't substitute for this.

Wherever you buy the membrane, they should also sell the flow restrictors. Just get both and then there's no guesswork.

That unit has no DI... just RO.

Jenn

grouper therapy
12-11-2009, 6:17 AM
If you have a TDS meter I have a plastic needle valve you can install instead and then you can fine tune the flow for optimum production.

Buckeye Field Supply
12-17-2009, 5:14 AM
Feel free to get us your email address and we can send you a set of instructions for one of our RO systems that has a similar configuration.

If you are on typical city water, and don't have chloramines, I'd recommend a 1 micron sediment filter and a 0.5 micron carbon block.

If you bought the system used, would be a good idea to sanitize it. Be happy to send you instructions for that as well.

Russ

justindville1987
12-17-2009, 10:28 AM
Does anyone know the difference with just DI verses a RODI system?

JennM
12-17-2009, 10:59 AM
Yes. A DI system only deionizes the water. There is no waste water with a DI system. With an RO system, the water is forced through a reverse-osmosis membrane, drop by drop, which is more effective in stripping out impurities.

Typically an RO unit generates 3-4 gallons of waste water, per gallon of product (good) water.

A DI unit wastes nothing, but sacrifices a bit on the purity of the water. If the source water has a low TDS you should get decent results with one.

I have one here that I loan out to people moving a tank or setting up a new one. It's faster than RO or RO/DI and better than using dechlorinated tap water.

An RO/DI does both - prefilters the water (sediment/carbon) then through the RO membrane, and finally through a DI cartridge. You'll get the best results with a combination RO/DI but it does waste water.

Hope this helps,

Jenn

justindville1987
12-17-2009, 12:35 PM
Couldn't of asked for a better explanation jenn. One more question would it run threw a filter sock or some
thing else, thank you.

JennM
12-17-2009, 12:39 PM
RO and RO/DI units typically have a sediment filter, 1 Micron or 5 Microns. The DI I have (Kent Deion 2000) has one carbon block filter and 2 DI chambers, no micron. I suppose one could add on a sediment prefilter if they wished.

On our RO/DI at the shop, for a while we ran a second 1 Micron prefilter because we were going through a lot of cartridges - the water was kind of "muddy" coming in. That seems to have resolve so we are back to one. Our incoming TDS is about 35 right now (when I checked this morning). I've seen it as high as 272 and it will change depending on a variety of factors.

On a RO/DI, or RO, keeping that sediment filter changed out regularly, along with the carbon block, can help prolong the life of the membrane (the expensive part!) The more stuff that gets pulled out before it gets to the membrane, the better. I like clear canisters on my RO/DI so I can *see* the sediment filter without opening the unit up. When it starts looking dingy, we change it.

Jenn