View Full Version : Pics of my 140 with the Solaris LED


FishyBusiness
02-21-2007, 10:05 PM
WEll its been up and running for about 3 weeks with the new 48" Solaris light and things seem to be happier than before...
Here's some pics of my tank
Enjoy!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb07.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb04.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb01.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb03.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb06.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb05.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb09.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v185/pandemic/feb02.jpg

photokid
02-21-2007, 10:26 PM
wow i like those lights they are really cool.... pun intended

FishyBusiness
02-21-2007, 10:35 PM
wow i like those lights they are really cool.... pun intended
yeah they're at about 91 degrees right now. Usually they're in the 80's but if I wanted to I could program the fans to come on at lower temperatures....even the freakin fans are programmable!

Amici
02-21-2007, 10:55 PM
For the price tag on one of those things you should be able to make your fish line dance and spell "Feed Me." lol You think you could take a pic of the LED screen? Oh and can you take a pic of them with the lights off so I can see the panel. No rush just curious!

tsciarini
02-22-2007, 6:50 AM
It looks like they've gotten brighter since we first turned the unit on.... what do you think? Have you been losing coraline in the "hot spots"? It doesnt make any sence for LEDs to have a "break-in period"

...and I still don't like the "straight" light these produce :tongue:

FishyBusiness
02-22-2007, 8:08 AM
Well, one thing that we didn't think about was the time of day that we had them set at. They alternate throughout the day so at its brightest is around 8pm-9pm now. Also only the first and last pics were without the flash.
I noticed that if you look carefully you can actually see the light beams in the pics but not when your looking at the tank. Ive taken the joy of adding new mushrooms and lower light polyps higher up in the tank were there is only a little light.....I still think the panels should go all the way across though.
You have no idea how often I am playing with the controller on this thing :)

FishyBusiness
02-22-2007, 8:13 AM
oh yeah, and no I havent lost any corraline and the only thing that seemed stressed oddly was the candy coral but its happy now.
Dawgdude- Thats my clowns saying FEED ME in the first pic, they wouldnt get out of the way. If you want to see the light you can. The solaris sight has a few things on them www.solarisled.com (http://www.solarisled.com). Luckily I got some of the cost taken off when I sold my chiller for $500 and I cleared up a lot of room when taking out the 2 halides and 4 powercompacts.

curious rash
02-22-2007, 2:56 PM
For the price tag on one of those things you should be able to make your fish line dance and spell "Feed Me." lol You think you could take a pic of the LED screen? Oh and can you take a pic of them with the lights off so I can see the panel. No rush just curious!

no one or thing shoul ever be made to line dance!

kzoo
02-22-2007, 3:18 PM
Wow looks great I think that everyone will use them for reef tanks in the future. Would be great if you post back in a month or so to tell us how every thing is doing.

Vettesarebest
02-22-2007, 7:05 PM
That is such a cool light! I would also like to see one with a whole panel on the bottom and not seperated. It would be nifty.

Amici
02-22-2007, 9:02 PM
no one or thing shoul ever be made to line dance!

You got something against line dancing? lol I happen to think line dancing is quite wonderful and fish line dancing could definatly be something you could copyright or something.

FishyBusiness
02-22-2007, 9:46 PM
That is such a cool light! I would also like to see one with a whole panel on the bottom and not seperated. It would be nifty.

Yes, Ive thought about this. Im going to try to get them to make extra panels to insert or possibly see if I could wire in my own and still use them on the micro processor. There is 2 small external ballasts and they each power 2 panels. I have space for 2 extra panels so in theory they should do it or just add them in the first place.