View Full Version : Marineland Advanced In-Sump Skimmer

Crew
09-19-2008, 2:33 AM
Ok, so I've just started setting my tank up after having it sit empty for a few months and I needed a skimmer. I went over to Marine Fish, and at Dave's advice, got the Marineland 100 Advanced In-Sump Skimmer... (by the way, that ARC discount is ******)

Since I don't have a tank established yet, I can't tell you what kind of gunk its going to pull out, soooo being an engineer, i've decided to make some dirty water for it to skim. Mainly so I can break it in (it says 5 days in the manual, but i was going to do 2 weeks) and also so I can see how this thing performs.

Originally I took a 5 gallon bucket, filled it partly with salt water, and then poured in some brine shrimp mix as the dirt

I placed in the skimmer and turned it on, and within 5 minutes the mix, in entirity was inside the collection cup haha, so my guess is it works well?? I will have to see how it does with something less solid later, but it produces mass amounts of tiny bubbles and its extremely quite... can't hear a thing

Oh, did I mention its footprint is like 5 inches??

I'll post pics up later, here is the factory photo
http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/1381/marinelandmw6.th.jpg (http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?image=marinelandmw6.jpg)

saltwater junky
09-19-2008, 5:27 AM
i have the 300 pro and i was amazed.

glxtrix
09-19-2008, 8:20 AM
Looks like a little coralife super skimmer. Hopefully they work better however. I mean, those things skim very well, but I know they went thu a period of leaky parts. Good thinking of starting it up now and getting it thu the break in period. Let us know how it works out on the tank.

saltwater junky
09-19-2008, 8:51 AM
mine cam from a display at macna so no break infor me.

Crew
09-19-2008, 11:05 AM
im still looking at ways to modify it, not that it needs any modification, but perfection is always one step closer you know? any ideas SW junky?

Amici
09-19-2008, 11:47 AM