View Full Version : Diy


sagent3000
01-11-2008, 11:07 AM
does anyone know how to make a DIY top off?

RonnieBlaze
01-11-2008, 11:08 AM
i found this one searching google...

http://www.aquahub.com/store/diygaquarium.html

glxtrix
01-11-2008, 11:31 AM
easiest one yet. I've been running this one for 3+ years with no issues. It doesnt have a relay like the first one posted, but will do the same thing.

http://www.melevsreef.com/plumbing/auto_topoff.html

Cameron
01-14-2008, 2:26 AM
Unless you like the DIY experience it is hard to beat an autotopoff.com unit with an aqualifter. Double switch (for safety reasons) is $50 and an aqualifter will run you about $12. You can build it cheaper but in the end you won't save too much.

jefft
01-14-2008, 7:52 AM
I use this one from Sam at Aquabuys:
http://www.aquabuys.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=jbj_ato&Category_Code=
its not diy, but it nice.

Skriz
01-14-2008, 9:50 AM
Tim sells the reeffanatic model. Not DIY, but priced well and is a good unit. Priced close enoungh to most DIY kits to make them not worth the hassle

sagent3000
01-14-2008, 2:25 PM
thanks for all your hlep i am goign to go with this one. i am going to plug my two small pumps into the plugs and have them going to two different containers (cal and alk) and have the powerheads on a timmer (cal -m,w,f & alk - t,th,s)


http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=1022


how does that idea sound

Cameron
01-14-2008, 3:14 PM
I would go with a double float switch personally. One snail or some salt creep and you could overflow the entire sump with RO.

Skriz
01-14-2008, 3:20 PM
Yep, you definately want 2 float switches. You need redundancy to protect your ***!

The reeffanatic model comes with 2 float switches. I think it is about $80? I am sure there are others out there too that would do the same thing.

Victor626nj
01-14-2008, 4:04 PM
this is a very easy one to make sam from aquabuys made it .its what i used for my nano but i rather have the jbj one it is much safer and worth the 90 bucks http://thereeftank.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31158

Cameron
01-14-2008, 6:39 PM
again autotopoff.com has one. It is cheap and super reliable. I know at least five people who run them.

cdub
01-14-2008, 6:41 PM
i use the two switch model from autotopoff.com or floatswitches.net. very easy to hook up plus all you have to buy is a cheap extension cord and pump.

jefft
01-14-2008, 6:45 PM
I use this one from Sam at Aquabuys:
http://www.aquabuys.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=jbj_ato&Category_Code=
its not diy, but it nice.

I use this on mine and I keep the floats in a mesh bag to keep critters from getting on the floats and causing them to stay on or off.

Victor626nj
01-14-2008, 6:49 PM
I use this on mine and I keep the floats in a mesh bag to keep critters from getting on the floats and causing them to stay on or off.
jeff try a pill bottle works like a charm..best free snail gaurd you can find

slayer
01-14-2008, 7:24 PM
here you go... its what i made... still working without flaws to this day..

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=3838

slayer
01-14-2008, 7:26 PM
whoops that was for the float switch and holder... heres how to make the actual unit..

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=3910

LiveRock27
01-14-2008, 8:02 PM
I've been looking for an autotop off for my biocube14 and I am wondering if the one from Autotopoff.com will fit in one of the chambers in the back of the biocube? Any one used this autotop off or another in a cube? Great job on the DIY job Slayer77!